Review: GhosTV (PsyCop #6) by Jordan Castillo Price

ghostv

Author: Jordan Castillo Price
Publication Date: February 24, 2011
Format: E-Book
Page Length: 379 pages
My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads | Kobo

BLURB

For the past dozen years, Victor Bayne has solved numerous murders by interrogating witnesses only he can see—dead witnesses. But when his best friend Lisa goes missing from the sunny California campus of PsyTrain, the last thing he wants to find there is her spirit.

Disappearing without a trace in a school full of psychics? That’s some trick. But somehow both Lisa and her roommate have vanished into thin air. A group of fanatics called Five Faith has been sniffing around, and Lisa’s email is compromised.

Time is running out, and with no ghosts to cross-examine, Vic can’t afford to turn down any offers of help. An old enemy can provide an innovative way to track Vic’s missing friend, and he enters into an uneasy alliance—even though its ultimate cost will ensnare him in a debt he may never manage to settle.

This was a scary, but fun book. I really should stop reading these books late at night, but that hasn’t happened yet. This book takes place out in California instead of Chicago, and we get to meet a whole new cast of characters out at the PsyTrain location that we haven’t met before. This is also the first time we’ve really gotten a solid Vic and Jacob partnership to solve a “case”. I love seeing the two working together, and we learn so much more about Vic, his abilities, and more about Psychs in general.

The book starts off with Vic hanging out with Jacob’s sister and nephew at an amusement park. Jacob’s sister, Barbara, makes an off-hand comment that suggests that Vic isn’t as athletic as a type of guy she always expected Jacob to end up with, and it’s a comment that makes Vic reevaluate his entire life for the rest of the book. Vic has self-confidence issues as it is, and Barbara’s comments really does a number on him here. It certainly makes for some…interesting moments where Vic wonders if he needs to start drinking Jacob’s bland drinks or if he needs to start working out.

“You want to fuck me?”

Um. Oh.

He looked pretty jazzed, so I made myself nod as if that was exactly what I’d been getting at. It’s not like I didn’t think Jacob’s ass was a damn fine ass, but with our bodies – him massive, me gangly – I felt like a greyhound attempting to mount a mastiff whenever we changed things up.

Anyways, the main part of the story, while Vic is having his own personal crisis, is that Lisa has gone missing. Vic’s ex-partner, Lisa, has been out at PsyTrain trying to master her abilities ever since she was discovered with her sí-no abilities in book one, Among the Living. No one has heard from Lisa in a while, and pretty soon we find out that Lisa and another woman have mysteriously disappeared. The last time Vic tried to travel to PsyTrain from Chicago was by car, and that had winded up in a kidnapping, so Vic and Jacob decide to do the smart thing and travel by plane. Naturally, nothing happens as expected, and the two wind up with one more passenger traveling with them to PsyTrain.

PsyTrain is a different place than Vic is used to. For all the psychics living there, it’s nothing like Vic’s Camp Hell days and is what Vic always imagined Heliotrope Station could have been if the psychics were never turned into test subjects. The place is absent of ghosts, and doesn’t leave Vic much to go on except the possibility that the people they’re looking for aren’t dead.

This book, as the title suggests, involves Vic getting his hands on a GhosTV, and the whole thing just creeps me out. The GhosTV does a lot more than just dialing ghosts on and off like we saw previously. It enhances Vic’s powers, and gives him some more that he never imagined possible. We’re slowly coming to terms with the fact that Vic may be a lot stronger than the Level Five he’s been classified as.

We don’t see much of Crash in this book once they’re out at PsyTrain, but we do get a scene with Crash both at the beginning and at the end of the book that I enjoyed. This book is longer than the previous books, and…it kinda felt like it about 40% of the way through? As much as I love reading more about Psychs and all, it started to get a little too much like an info-dump and I found myself really having to just push through one chapter in particular.

I love Vic. I love Mr. Sexy Pants. The sex scenes, even the *cough*paranormalsexscene*cough*, was outrageously hot. Vic is as hilarious as ever (maybe more so in this book), and seeing Mr. Sexy Pants get turned on by all things psychic will never fail to amuse me. We get to see a peak into Jacob’s mind in GhosTV. He’s exudes confidence most of the time, but sometimes even that is just a front he puts on to the people around him. It breaks my heart to hear him second-guess himself or his relationship with Vic. Can’t they just be happy, adorable, and sexy together?

“Are you happy?”

“Yeah.” The need to kiss him flooded over me, because he shouldn’t have needed to ask me that. He should have known, and if he couldn’t tell that he was everything to me, it was my fault, not his.

There are still some parts of this book that I find myself side-eyeing because they’re just one-liners that are offensive and don’t need to be in the book at all? I know this was published in 2011, but still.

Overall, I liked the book because of Vic being Vic and the paranormal stuff was creepy. The ending was a total surprise and I’m not quite sure how I feel about it just yet. I think I prefer Camp Hell more, but this is still a great sequel and addition to the PsyCop series. I’m looking forward to reading Spook Squad next!

Leave a Reply

